Urban Decay Naked Skin Weightless Ultra Definition Liquid Makeup: The Swatches

1. Urban Decay Naked Skin Weightless Ultra Definition Liquid Makeup, 1.0 oz for $38.00

I was flipping through the Allure special edition summer magazine, when I first read about the Urban Decay Naked Skin Weightless Ultra Definition Liquid Makeup foundation.  It was a gorgeous ad showcasing glowing skin.  I was really excited.  Apparently, I have not been on my blog reading best I guess, because it was only after I saw the ad that I googled all of the blogs that wrote PR promos for it with swatches of some of the samples that were sent to them. 

I hightailed it to a beauty counter where I was matched and given several samples that I will be swatching.  The point of this post is to provide swatches.  I will comment later on the overall efficacy of this foundation on oily, acne prone skin, when I have time to really see it in action.  What I can say is that the beauty counter associate who matched me was wearing shade 6.0 and her skin looked flawless but not heavily made up.  Also, I never would have guessed she was a 6.0.  She appeared to be lighter than me, and she was originally swatched to 3.0 by her Urban Decay co-workers.  But this is key with so many foundations,  while she was lighter than me, her undertone was very different from mine.  The 3.0 would have clashed with her undertone, even if it was the right lightness, while 6.0 matched her undertone perfectly.

Using a transparent shadefinder, she originally matched me to 5.0, but she chose 1 shade darker and one shade lighter than that to compare.  I had already determined by a quick swatch test that 4.0 appeared to be a close match.  I didn’t say anything as she said I was a 5.0.  But lo and behold, as soon as she swatched 4.0 on my skin, she placed the others away.

She said that only one pump was necessary to cover the face and that the foundation was a full coverage formula.  I can say that while Urban Decay’s Naked Skin Weightless Ultra Definition Liquid Makeup foundation feels VERY NICE and offers a weightless feel to full coverage foundation, YSL’s Le Teint Touche Eclat Foundation still had a rather luxurious translucent color coverage that made even shades that were blatantly off, look fantastic on my skin because of the way my own skin was able to peek through.  However, Urban Decay Naked Skin Weightless Ultra Definition Liquid Makeup foundation is meant for full coverage, for those who need it, or want it, while YSL’s Le Teint Touche Eclat Foundation is a light-medium translucent coverage.

With that, here are the swatches, with descriptions provided by Sephora’s website:

3.0 – Light shade, with golden undertone

4.0 – Medium-light shade, with golden olive undertone

5.0  – Medium shade, with slight golden undertone

6.0 – Medium shade, golden beige for olive skintone

7.0 – Medium dark shade, with slight golden undertone

Ingredients: Aqua (Water/Eau), Cyclopentasiloxane, Butylene Glycol, Silica, Cyclohexasiloxane, Dimethicone, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Camellia Oleifera Leaf Extract, Litchi Chinensis Pericarp Extract, Tocopheryl Acetate, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Tribehenin, Palmitoyl Oligopeptide, Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide-7, Sodium Hyaluronate, Glycerin, Dimethicone/PEG-10/15 Crosspolymer, Dimethicone/Polyglycerin-3 Crosspolymer, Isopropyl Titanium Triisostearate, Polysorbate 20, Disodium Cocoyl Glutamate, Sodium Cocoyl Glutamate, Propylene Glycol, Carbomer, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Hexyl Laurate, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol. All shades may contain: CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77491/77492/77499 (Iron Oxides).

4 comments

  1. I’m going to try and test it out when it comes out – can’t wait, since I love UD. Recently, there have been a lot of launches, and I’m not complaining, because foundation has all become so much more lightweight, and invisible lately, but it still gives good coverage. And I absolutely love that ad – it’s all very reddish. x

    • I saw it on the UD beauty consultant and her skin looked flawless. What surprised me is the possible shade range for someone. The person who swatched me said she was matched to 3.0 but it turned out too light for her preference. However, she was lighter than me! So she was wearing 6.0, which suited her undertone perfectly. When she tried to match me she said I was a 5.0,initially, but when she applied a swatch of 4.0, she said that was what blended in. I think everyone should play with multiple swatches. The ad is fantastic, too.

  2. I’m buying online and can’t decide my shade, I have the same undertone to 4.0 but I have a feeling it will be slightly too light, do you think that would matter? The shade 5.0 looks too red toned for my skin, so it is very difficult to decide!

    • Yikes, I am sorry Tahnee it took so long to check comments on my end. If you feel 4.0 may be too light, 6.0 is a deeper yellow shade. I know sounds crazy right. But the makeup artist who helped me select 4.0 was using 6.0 and she was not darker than me but her undertones were a bit warmer. Blending out would help. The make up artist tried 4.0 and 6.0 on me, and completely bypassed 5.0.


Leave a Reply

