Brightens and Clears: PCA Skin Pigment Bar + Blemish Control Bar

Before I discovered PCA Skin cleansing bars, the last bar of soap I had ever used to wash my face was from Neutrogena and that was before I discovered the liquid soap version and I thought to myself, ‘never will I wash my face with bar soap again.  How antiquated. ‘ I didn’t purchase the PCA Skin bar soaps because it was in bar form.  I purchased it because of the interesting ingredients it had and because of the directions that suggested that the foam be left on the skin for a few minutes to allow proper penetration.   

1. PCA Skin Pigment Bar, 3.3 0z for $28.00

The Pigment Bar is meant to treat skin discoloration, and it can treat acne at the same time.  A closer look at the ingredients reveals several ingredients that can brighten the skin and fade discoloration: kojic acid, glucosamine, niacinamide and calcium ascorbate.  It also has an ingredient I have rarely noticed in skincare products: tannic acid.  Further research shows that tannic acid has a beneficial and protective effect on skin and is used for a variety of medicinal purposes on the skin and internally. 

The bar soap comes in a round plastic container, which cuts down on clutter and mess.  It also looks kind of cool in the jar.  Contained in each product box is a dried round sponge that expands when water is added to it.  I moisten this sponge with water and wipe the surface of bar soap until I have picked up enough product to wipe allover my face.  I make sure to create significant foam and cover most of my facial skin and neck.  I leave it on for a few minutes and wash it off with water. 

What I found interesting about this soap is that it does not easily rinse off.  I have to make sure to rinse all of the product residue off of my skin.  Once it was completely removed, I was left with bright, glowing and flushed skin.  I was really impressed.  This seems like a deeper clean than what I get from regular soaps I have.   While I noticed a positive effect on acne, I think that is more a byproduct of the main benefit of this bar soap, which is it leaves your skin with a brightened radiant glow.  However, this is not an every day product.  It can be drying and it is not a convenient cleanser.   I generally don’t like to spend several minutes washing my face.  Plus, it takes a while to wash off and even when you wash it off.  So, I tend to use only on weekends, once or twice a month.  Another plus is that it LASTS forever.  One bar can last over a year.  I still have the first one and I will repurchase when it runs out.   This is a definitely a star product from PCA Skin.  Sometimes, I buy so much product, I forget about the star product I do have and this is definitely one of them.  Need to cycle this back in rotation.

Ingredients: Distilled Water, Glycerides, Saponins, maltose, Tannic Acid, Glycerin, Glucose Polymers, Kojic Acid, Lecithin, Aloe Vera, Glucosamine, Hamamelis Bark Tannins, Sodium Lactate, Niacinamide, Calcium Ascorbate, Urea

2. PCA Skin Blemish Control Bar, 3.3 oz for $34.00

This Blemish Control Bar is meant to gently clear acne and prevent scarring.  I like this product because it is great to use when my skin cannot tolerate the MD Forte cleansers I use, or if I just want to baby it because of the abuse I have put it through with retinoids.  I find this bar to be far gentler on skin than the Pigment Bar.  The results of this bar are not as immediately dramatic as the Pigment Bar.  I call this the slow and steady.  This is not an acne killer, as most things are not, but it does gently treat your skin over time.  This is a great option for someone who wants to stick to one, gentle acne treatment cleansing product.  It rinses off easily and quickly from skin and it leaves it softly moisturized but not oily, or greasy.  I will repurchase when used up because it does not irritate my skin and there are periods where I cannot do anything harsh to my skin, and this is gentle AND effective.  Despite my nukes on approach for acne, I have recognized the importance of gentle effectiveness, at least intermittently. 🙂

Ingredients: Purified Water, Glucose Polymers, Glycerin, Glycerides, Saponified Vegetable Oils, Sulfur, Salicylic Acid, Honey, Lecithin, Aloe Vera Extract, Eucalyptus Oil, Pine Tree Oil, Vitamin E

However, if you could only get one product from the PCA Skin line, and you suffer from hyperpigmentation, I would wholeheartedly recommend the Pigment Bar.

Leave a Reply

