Pore Sucker & Brightener Duo: Isopropyl Alcohol and White Mask

I love Japanese skincare products.  Japanese beauty culture is focused on flawless, translucent skin.  Plus, I don’t know why but, I have this image of super advanced technology and superior efficacy behind all of their products.  So, when I saw Kose’s Sekkisei White Mask in a beauty store, I knew I had to try it out. 

1. Sekkisei White Mask, 2.7 oz for $30.00

It is a shiny blue-black peel off mask.  It looks super cool coming out of the tube, and it is super thick.  You spread this stuff over your facial skin, making sure to avoid all sensitive areas, and any areas with hair on it.  I prefer a thick layer.  You then wait until it is dry and you should feel it harden on your face.  Bubbles will form around the largest pores with oil, normally around the t-zone and nose.  I strip this off and it is like removing suctioned tape from your skin.  Your face feels ubersoft, and any loose skin, hairs, and blocking oil plugs are removed.  Your skin also looks brighter.  This mask is not meant for sensitive skin, and I highly suggest dry types avoid this mask.  But for non-sensitive, oily, acne-prone girls, this stuff is awesome! I have purchased this mask at least four times.  It lasts a long time because you really shouldn’t be doing this mask too often.

Now, this does not dislodge gunk from deep within your pores.  It is a superficial mask that grabs and removes the top layer.  So, basically, if you have blackheads, the uppermost portion will be removed.  However, your pores are more receptive to any other type of products to degunk what’s in there.  I usually follow with another mask that is enzyme based to dissolve what’s in the pores.   Also, you should be careful not to get this mask anywhere near your eyebrows.

Ingredients: Water (Aqua), Polyvinyl Alcohol, Alcohol, Ascorbyl Glucoside, PPG 10 Methyl Glucose Ether, Titanium Dioxide, Angelica Acutiloba Root Extract, Artemisia Capillaris Flower Extract, Coix Lacryma Jobi Mayuen Seed Extract (Job’s Tears), Coptis Japonica Root Extract, Paeonia Suffruticosa Root Extract, Bentonite (CI 77004), Butylene Glycol, Citric Acid, Diethylhexyl Sodium Sulfosuccinate, Dipropylene Glycol, Disodium Phosphate, Polyglyceryl 10 Laurate, Polyglyceryl 10 Pentaoleate, Silica, Sodium Hydroxide, Methylparaben, Phenoxyethanol, Fragrance (Parfum) (Parfum)

2. Isopropyl Alcohol (any drugstore variety)

Sometimes, I feel like I really want the mask to dig deep, so I use Isopropyl Alcohol right before I apply the mask.  I use it just like a toner and concentrate on my t-zone and avoid the sensitive areas of my face.  I read in Lucky Magazine, a few years back, how a beauty editor used isopropyl alcohol on her toughest acne, and how it dried it out.  I figured why not.  I applied the Sekkisei White Mask right after the toner.  You get substantially more suction with the Isopropyl Alcohol and you, literally, feel like you are peeling off superglue from your pores.

Ingredients: Isopropyl Alcohol (91%), Water

I have extremely resistant, oily acne-prone skin, so my skin can take alot before it stings and cracks.  This is not meant for sensitive or dry skin.  I would caution anyone who wants to try this, to start out with the mask alone, and see how you fare. 

Leave a Reply

