Summer 2012: Maybelline Dream Bouncy Blush

Maybelline Dream Bouncy Blush

I am a huge blush girl.  I love all blushes.  I used to be strictly a powder blush girl because I did not believe I could, or should, use cream blushes on my oily, acne-prone skin.  In the last year, I have changed my tune and have virtually only used cream and gel blushes on my skin.  My cheeks have not seen a powder blush in a very long time.  One of the interesting new releases that stormed the blogosphere were the Maybelline Dream Bouncy Blushes.

The blush itself is a little like play-doh.  You can mold it with your fingers and reshape.  The way this blush transfers color reminds me of a stamp blush because all you have to do is press down a couple of times and you get some color.  I like to firmly tap the blush with my forefinger a couple of times and swipe across my upper cheeks for a wash of color.  These are not pigmented and it sheers out.  There is, also,  a teeny bit of shimmer.  This is not the most long lasting blush out there, however, it is definitely more long lasting than a lot of other drugstore powder blushes.

The Hot Tamale has a definite winter-raspberry flushed hue.  It is blue-toned, like a red hot, actually, which I was not expecting for a product named Hot Tamale (or maybe I should have?).  The Peach Satin has a warm corally hue.  It seems kind of a dark pink peach.  The Coffee Cake is my favorite because it is kind of a bronzey sienna color with a hint of pink.  It is a great color and can be used year round, I think, to fake a healthy sun glow on the cheeks.

The swatches below was taken indoors under natural light with no flash.

These were the only three shades I was interested in.  I feel like the others were kind of boring, redundant colors that aren’t as flattering on most skintones.  The only shade which I am a bit curious about it is the Plum Wine but not curious enough to actually buy.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Maybelline Dream Bouncy Blush in Orchid Hush « Fairytales and Coffee


Leave a Reply

