Decleor Aromessence Night Balm Collection

I never would have thought that adding oil, or anything waxy-like, to my oily, acne-prone skin would actually reduce oil and treat my acne.  Had it not been for an article I read about the oil cleansing method, I never would have branched out and tried essential oils and balms.  The oil cleansers I use as a pre-wash will be another post, but today I will talk about my lovely night balms from Decleor’s Aromaessence Night Balm line.

I love these night balms because they soothe, repair, eat up oil, and shockingly, completely clear out pores and shrink them.  While all of the balms I have, can do the afore mentioned at varying levels, there is a reason why I have three balms, and not just one.  Each balm does something better than the others.

1. DISSOLVES BLACKHEADS AND OIL FROM T-ZONE PORES: Decleor Ylang Ylang Purifying Night Balm $73.00

I use the Ylang Ylang Purifying Night Balm as my ultimate pimple shrinker, oil sucker.  I have slathered my skin with this stuff overnight and I have woken up with smooth, soft, non-oily skin with tiny pores.  The key is to use the right amount of the balm.  I always tend to overuse product, no matter the product, or instructions.  With this product, I literally scoop up a dime to nickel sized blob, rub my hands together, and completely butter my face.  Usually, I will slather my face with the accompanying Ylang Ylang Essential Serum before I crisco my face with the Ylang Ylang Night Balm.  This is not a day look.  I do this an hour, or so, before I go to bed and it does not stain my sheets.  I wake up the next morning and my skin looks fabulous.  Several caveats to using this product: 1) Your skin should not be dry, or sensitized to begin with.  This balms sucks up oil but doesn’t really condition as well as other balms.  2)  This should not be used in a high heat and high humidity environment.  It doesn’t work as well in the summer. 3) It is not as effective on hormonal imbalance induced acne, but it does not irritate it either. 

Ingredients: Corylus Avellana (Hazel) Seed Oil, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Beeswax (Cera Alba), Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Zea Mays (Corn) Oil, Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax , Cananga Odorata Flower Oil, Ocimum Basilicum (Basil) Oil, Melaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree) Leaf Oil, Dipteryx Odorata Seed Extract, Tocopherol, Benzyl Benzoate, Benzyl Salicylate, Coumarin

2. SOOTHES SENSITIZED SKIN FROM HARSH ACNE TREATMENTS AND DISSOLVES BLACKHEADS AND OIL FROM T-ZONE PORES: Decleor Rose D’Orient Soothing Night Balm $73.00

I use the Rose D’Orient Night Balm when I have severely ravaged my skin with glycolic acids and high strength retinoids.  This completely soothes and conditions my skin and STILL sucks up excess oil from pores and dissolves blackheads.  This stuff is amazing.  I usually slather on the Rose D’Orient Essential Serum before I use this to increase the effect.  I actually suggest usage of these night balms with the serums as it enhances the efficacy of the balms.  But the balms can work without the serums.  However, like the Ylang Ylang Purifying Night Balm, this should not be used in the summer and it is not as effective on hormonal imbalance induced acne.

ingredients: Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil, Beeswax (Cera Alba), Zea Mays (Corn) Oil, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Ribes Nigrum (Black Currant) Seed Oil, Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax , Citrus Aurantium Amara (Bitter Orange) Flower Wax , Thymus Mastichina (Sweet Marjoram) Oil, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Citrus Aurantium Amara (Bitter Orange) Neroli Oil, Anthemis Nobilis Flower Oil, Rosa Damascena Flower Oil, Tocopherol, Citronellol, Farnesol, Geraniol

3. ALL AROUND CONDITIONING, BRIGHTENING, PURIFYING FOR NORMAL SKINTYPES: Decleor Aromessence Baume Essential Essential Balm (Discontinued)

This is an all-purpose meant for all skintypes night balm that is meant to rebalance, purify and condition.  It doesn’t have the same purifying capabilities of the other two balms, or the soothing action of the Rose D’Orient.  It is basically a conditioning balm for more normal skin types who only need minor purifying and soothing action.  I use this the least and I probably will not repurchase because it seems a bit redundant.  However, I can use a teeny bit during the day time as a moisturizer.   I also think that Decleor no longer makes this specific balm.  My fill in for this balm will likely be the Iris Regenerating Night Balm meant for aging skin.

Ingredients: Essential Oils of Rosemary, Geranium, Chamomile, Angelica, Borage, Avocado, Red Palm Plant Oils, and Essential Waxes of Narcissus, Rose, and Cassia.

You get another bonus with these balms because they last forever!  I have had these balms for several years and I don’t foresee running out anytime soon.   This is a staple in my arsenal and I will continue to repurchase the Rose D’Orient and the Ylang Ylang Night Balms.  They are a must.

One more thing, Decleor recently repackaged their line, so I have the old packaging.  Check out Decleor’s website for the new packaging.

4 comments

  1. Pingback: The Essential Oils: ‘Til Infinity and On « Fairytales and Coffee

  2. Pingback: A-Bombs Away! « Fairytales and Coffee

  3. Pingback: Decleor Aromessence Rose D’Orient Soothing Serum + Ylang Ylang Purifying Serum « Fairytales and Coffee

  4. Pingback: The Balms the Bomb! « Fairytales and Coffee


Leave a Reply

