Cetaphil DermaControl Oil Control SPF Moisturizer and Foam Wash

Cetaphil DermaControl Oil Control Set

I am always on the lookout for sunscreens that can be worn on oily skin.  So when I saw the new Cetaphil® DERMACONTROL™ Oil Control Moisturizer SPF 30, I knew I had to try it.  I bought it along with the matching DERMACONTROL™ Oil Control Foam Wash.

1. Cetaphil® DERMACONTROL™ Oil Control Moisturizer SPF 30, 4 oz. for $16.99

I needed something quick that I could slap on on my way to the gym, and on my way back from the gym in the high heat and humidity.  Everything else I had either required tint to minimize the whiteness, or felt too heavy for the high humidity.  I wanted simple.  When I am going to the gym, I don’t mind going out with my broken out skin.  If it is especially bad and inflamed, I may gently tap on some concealer only on the raised bumps to minimize the red glare, but I am not fooling anyone. I have broken out skin.

I will make this short.  The SPF moisturizer felt great on my skin.  It did not feel oily, or heavy, and it dried down to an immediate matte feel.  It also did not burn my skin like most chemical sunscreens can, if my skin is sensitized.  The final test came when I started sweating on the stationary bike, as I spun some serious serious sweat out of my body.  My face sweated rivers, but the sunscreen did not run into my eyes and burn me like other chemical sunscreens do. 

One caveat, while it feels great on oily skin, in extreme heat and high humidity, this sunscreen will feel like a stationary, floating viscose film on your skin.  I would say this sunscreen is great on normal summer days, but once the humidity is super high, matched with 90+ deegrees, this stuff will not feel pleasant.  Avoid in extreme humidity.  I don’t think there is a single chemical sunscreen that can withstand high humidity and 90+ degrees without feeling like sludge.  Go mineral sunscreen for those days.  But Cetaphil’s DermaControl Oil Control SPF Moisturizer is still a winner in my book.  Definitey a re-buy!

Update:  This sunscreen feels great during mid fall and winter.  I have been using it in the winter and it works great.  Allthough, you may want to add a light moisturizer if your skin isn’t as oily in the winter.

Ingredients: avobenzone 3%, octisalate 5%, octocrylene 7%, water, isopropyl lauroyl sarcosinate, glycerin, dimethicone, diisopropyl sebacate, silica, polymethyl methacrylate, aluminum starch octenylsuccinate, sucrose tristearate, dimethiconol, pentylene glycol, polysorbate 61, sodium stearoyl glutamate, phenoxyethanol, caprylyl glycol, tocopheryl acetate, glycyrrhetinic acid, panthenol, triethanolamine, allantoin, carbomer, potassium sorabte, zine gluconate, xanthan gum, disodium EDTA, hydroxypalmitoyl sphinganine

2. Cetaphil® DERMACONTROL™ Oil Control Foam Wash, 8 oz for $11.99

The foam wash was good too, although, I am not certain of the necessity of this product.  The cleanser left an immediate refreshed but dry-matte feel to my skin which is not typical.  I normally layer on other products on my skin to prevent oiliness,and whatever else I want to prevent.  Since I have acne and I am, also, fighting post-acne marks, I need to layer other serums and moisturizers on my skin.  I think this is a great cleanser if you are not currently fighting active acne lesions and just want something quick and casual, whether at the beach, gym, post office, errands to control super oily, but clear skin…you get the idea.   I am stashing the cleanser for the days when I only need to control the oilies and not acne.  But it is a great, inexpensive drugstore cleanser.

Ingredients: water, zinc coceth sulfate, glycerin, PEG-75, dipotassium glycyrrhizate, zinc gluconate, PEG-200 hydrogenated glyceryl palmate, PEG-40 hydrogenated castor oil,  PEG-7 glyceryl cocoate, sodium benzoate, masking fragrance, disodium EDTA

3 comments

  1. Pingback: Drugstore Cleanser-palooza for Oily Acne-Prone Skin « Fairytales and Coffee

  2. Pingback: Cetaphil Sunscreens Comparison « Fairytales and Coffee

  3. Hi! I actually just started a blog mostly because I found this moisturizer with SPF and loved it…which triggered this massive interest in skincare…which has turned into an obsession…and of course because I was becoming annoying to my friends with “oh hey have you ever tried XYZ before??” I decided to start a blog instead.

    Anyways, I also tried the foam wash but found it to do virtually nothing. (Disclaimer: I generally find foam cleansers to be pretty useless.)

    At any rate, glad you agree the moisturizer is amazing!!


Leave a Reply

