Movie: Friends with Kids

Friends with Kids (Starring Adam Scott, Jennifer Westfeldt, Maya Rudolph, Chris O’Dowd, Jon Hamm, Kristen Wiig, Ed Burns, and Megan Fox)

I was expecting to be amused, but I was not expecting to burst out laughing the number of times that I did.   This is definitely a fairy tale for adults.  I understand SOME people may like complete realism with their movie and hate the all to cute and neat endings, but you know what?  I like my movies UNREAL thank you for very much.  Like seriously, who wants to pay almost $14 to watch reality for 2 hours with a bucket of $8 popcorn?   I mean who the heck thought Jennifer Aniston and Vince Vaughn’s movie “The BreakUp” would be enjoyable to watch?  I felt like I was watching a real relationship dying and it was not fun or interesting.  It was depressing.  I can see that for free!  You know what I can’t see for free?  Neat happy endings with perfectly funny one liners.

Adam Scott, as the baby daddy, was great with his quippy and man-boy jerky one liners and comebacks, but also sappy sensitivity and uh – male insensitivity.  He has been in a bunch of other movies (err – so I see on the internets), but the only one I remember him in is Monster-in-Law with Jane Fonda and Jennifer Lopez, as the gay best friend, and for some reason, I keep thinking he was in Legally Blonde with Reese Witherspoon, but he may not have been?  But this is a great amusing movie, with some “adult” mature “realism” provided by Jon Hamm, Kristen Wiig, Maya Rudolph and Chris O’Dowd.

This was a very enjoyable movie.  Definitely check it out.

2 comments


Leave a Reply

