MD Forte Cleansers (II and III)

MD Forte Cleansers: Level I, II, III

By far the best cleanser I have come across for my oily, acne prone skin is the MD Forte Cleansers in Level II and III.  I keep coming back to this product and I have easily gone through over a half a dozen bottles since I first discovered it some years ago.  I rotate this product with other cleansers depending on my skin needs.

It has a high concentration of glycolic acid, yet it is not drying on my skin.  I have used other glycolic acid cleansers that had a far more drying affect.

From the brand literature, the:

“Glycolic Compound is a complex, pH-balanced mixture of glycolic acid, ammonium glycolate, purified water, and higher-molecular-weight oligomers of glycolic acid, with an approximate activity level of 60%, and is designated on product labels as the ingredients “glycolic acid” and “ammonium glycolate.”

Level II contains 15% glycolic acid compound, while Level III contains 20%.  I used the Level III when my skin was far more resistant and could handle a high concentration, along with all the other active ingredients I used, to handle me acne.  I now use the Level II because my skin is more sensitive to all the “actives” I use.  But once I get my acne under control again, I will go back up to the Level III.

Ingredients: Purified Water (Aqua), Glycolic (and) Ammonium Glycolate, Cetyl Alcohol, Stearyl Alcohol, Sorbitol, Ammonium Lauryl Sulfate, Methylparaben, Propylparaben

This cuts through the grease of my skin and leaves it baby soft and smooth.  It helps to exfoliate the rough patches that I get when I go over board on the retinoids too without overdrying.  Unless, of course, it’s cracked from zealous use of acids and retinoids, then, yes, avoid this cleanser, please.

It comes out as a white pearly cream but rinses cleanly off.  You only need about a nickel size, but since I tend to over use product, a quarter-size won’t dry you out either.

What it lacks is all in the packaging, which is cheap and unnattractive.  It is a plastic container with a rounded twist off cap, which actually covers the smaller black twist off cap that is sometimes exposed when you use a little too much force in twisting the pale beige rounded cover.

This comes at around $28.00 for an 8 oz. bottle.   It lacks slick packaging, marketing, and questionable fancy ingredients, but it works very well.  If you are new to glycolic acids, I suggest you start out with Level I and work your way up.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Glycolic Acid + Salicylic Acid Facial Cleansers « Fairytales and Coffee


Leave a Reply

