Book: Original Vampire Diaries

Am I the slightest bit embarrased that I watch a tv show on the CW network following a group of teenage vampires, witches and wolves?  NOPE!

But this post isn’t about the tv show.  It is actually about the original book series it is based on.  I actually read the first book when I was in junior high.  It was in the young adult section of the library and I could not resist the lure of a vampire in high school.  As the young teen that I was, this story enthralled me.  The kind that inspired little teenage girls of romantic dreams of that dark brooding strange boy in class who somehow sees you…yeahhhhhhhhhhh.  THHWAAPPP!  (Hand on forehead).

Vampire Diaries: The Awakening; Original Cover, L.J. Smith

When I finished the first book, I feverishly looked for the rest of the trilogy in the library.  But the library did not have the foresight to actually have the entire trilogy within its collection.  Eventually, I forgot about this book and the unfinished trilogy.

Fast forward many years later, and I see a commercial for the tv show series premiere of the Vampire Diaries.  GASP!!!!  OMG! OMG! I wish someone could have taken a picture of me.   It was like I was ten years old and it was Christmas all over again.  I was so excited that I could now finish a childhood wish.

Vampire Diaries: The Struggle; Original Cover, L.J. Smith

Once I received all four books (the trilogy received a fourth title), the excitement I experienced initially became a little dulled.  I don’t know if it was because I had recently finished the Twilight series, or if it was because I had built up my expectations, but the story wasn’t as interesting as I remembered it to be.  My adult brain was not as impressed as my pre-teen one was, I guess.   I feel that while Vampire Diaries had stronger and less annoying characters to begin with, it did not expand on vampire mythology, or create a larger universe for Elena, Stefan and Damon to grow into.  Twilight expanded into a larger mythology, which I appreciated.

Vampire Diaries: The Fury; Original Cover, L.J. Smith

I do know that additional books have been added to the book series to parallel what is going on in the tv show.  I have no interest in reading those books since I am watching the tv show, even if I am a season behind.

Vampire Diaries: Dark Return; Original Cover, L.J. Smith

I consider The Vampire Diaires to be the weakest book series written by L.J. Smith, followed by The Forbidden Game.  But it provided a good entry into her better books, such as the Secret Circle (also a show, now cancelled); Dark Visions; and Night World.

Leave a Reply

